yay! my very first blog award

leibster+150

this post is all about my fifteen minutes of fame.

okay…so i’m not famous and i’m not accepting kind of trophy. although receiving this badge for the liebster award makes me one happy gal. i was nominated by renee of blissfuldaysahead and monica of sparklesandplaid. thank you ladies for your thoughtfulness. i feel quite honored.

so here is how it works… bloggers award other bloggers who they deem as “up and coming” and have less than 200 followers. it’s a nice way to help other bloggers increase their visibility and it’s kinda like a “get to know you.” if you receive a liebster you must tell 11 things about yourself, answer 11 questions asked by the nominating blogger, and nominate 11 new bloggers. then you ask those bloggers 11 questions that they will answer. {don’t forget to tell the new bloggers you have nominated them!}

11 things about me

1. ever since i could remember, i’ve always had medium to long length hair. actually during a part of my childhood, it was down to my bum. just recently, i did something i’d never have the courage to do. i chopped it off! …and now i’m sporting a very short bob. (the debut will be made in the next post)

2. i’ve been thinking about motherhood since i was probably 6 years old. not even exaggerating… i had quite the obsession. i seriously had baby brain almost my entire life, so i’m not just saying this to sound cliche. when i held my little izabella for the first time, my dreams (finally) came true.

3. i was born here, but my parents, and generations prior were natives of the dominican republic. i’m pretty fluent in spanish, but i definitely think in english and some words i just have trouble translating (ugh). you can say, i often speak “spanglish”.

4. i can’t make rice. yeah, i’m dominican and it’s really bizarre. i’m not proud of it. oddly enough, if you ask me to make something far more complicated, i could probably ace it.

5. my hubby and i met on a dating site. i was skeptical yet curious of what i thought was an unconventional matchmaker. five years later, we’re still together and in love. yup, it happens people :)

6. i’m an art school graduate. i attended the fashion institute of technology in nyc. initially, i received my associates degree in interior design. i later went on to pursue communication design and graduated with an bachelors degree.

7. i don’t know how to swim. the most i can do is doggie paddle. it’s pretty embarrassing. if only i could get over my fear and learn…

8. recently, i became majorly obsessed with pinterest. have you been on that site? because if you haven’t, please be warned: once you start pinning, you just can’t stop. i’ll be the first to admit, i’m addicted.

9. my hands are freakishly tiny. like childish tiny. i have a size three ring size. yes, you read correctly…3! my man had my engagement ring and wedding band customized to fit.

10. i drink more than the recommended eight glasses of water. a lot more! probably almost twice that. i don’t force myself, i just naturally crave it. i always used to worry if i had diabetes, because that’s one of the symptoms. fortunately, i don’t and i like to think of it as one of my healthy lifestyle habits.

11. on that note, i need to add more healthy routines. like exercising for example, which i don’t do regularly. actually, i probably only exercised a few dozen times my entire life! it’s one of my new year’s resolutions.

11 questions for the nominees to answer

1. What is your favorite thing about blogging?

it’s a platform. a blank canvas to express myself. a wonderful way to connect with others and stay motivated.

2. What is your favorite thing about yourself?

my nurturing personality.

3. If you could have a super power what would it be?

if i could be energetic and productive with no sleep at all–aka supermom.

4. What state do you live in?

new york.

5. What is your favorite childhood memory?

our first family road trip to disney world. it was truly magical in my eyes.

6. What is your biggest fear?

losing who i am and/or losing someone i love.

7. If you could go on vacation anywhere, where would it be?

somewhere warm and exotic, like the fiji islands.

8. What is your favorite color?

always a hard one for me to answer. i love so many, but at the moment i’m loving teal.

9. What is your favorite food?

i have so many favorites. the perfect response would be fusion, because it incorporates an eclectic mix of cuisines.

10. Do you do anything crafty? Tell us about it.

long ago were the days of painting, drawing and diy projects. today i’m focused on digital arts, and trying to add my artistic touch in everyday life.

11. Name the top 5 things on your bucket list.

traveling, overcoming my fears, learning acoustic guitar, becoming a better version of myself and getting out of debt.

here are my nominees

11 questions for the nominees to answer

1. what’s your favorite holiday tradition?

2. name three things you have on you at all times?

3. what’s one word you say a lot?

4. when you looked at yourself in the mirror today, what was the first thing you thought?

5. how did you get into blogging?

6. what’s your worst bad habit?

7. would you rather have the power to be invisible or the power to read minds? why?

8. you’re given a million dollars right now. what do you spend it on?

9. what’s the one thing you miss about being a child?

10. would you go back in time if it were possible? and if so, would you change something?

11. what’s your favorite personality trait? do think most people would agree?

………..

when you complete your questions, make sure to put a link on my facebook page or comment back here! I would love to read your answers :)

xo

raquel

11 thoughts on “yay! my very first blog award

  1. Donah D. Sweetjellybean says:

    Hello Raquel! Aww thanks so much for nominating me for this lovely award! This is amazing! I will certainly sit down and post this on my blog too! Just a little busy these days with so many things going on, but with all the festivity out of the way, I think I’m back on track. Have a great evening! ^^ Donah

Leave a Reply

