My best accessory to wear is my baby

In honor of international babywearing week, I wanted to share my personal experience with this wonderful age-old tradition. Let me just start off by stating my husband and I practice attachment parenting. It was never something I was forced into, rather a style which came so naturally and instinctual to me. Even before meeting my hubby or trying to conceive, I’d always envisioned the kind of mother I wanted to be. Way before attachment parenting became so controversial  or even the “new trend”, I was actually striving towards those basic priciples on my own.One of them being skin-to-skin contact and holding baby often. That evolved into discovering babywearing and learning about the many benefits it offered.

Wearing my baby or rather toddler, (Can’t believe I used the ‘T’ word to describe my little peanut) is truly an amazing way to bond. Having her close enough to hear my heartbeat, and being able to give her butterfly kisses is a wonderful way to soothe her. She’s high needs (sensitive and spirited) and responds excellently to this nurturing style. Now that she’s older, I can use the back carry position and she’s happy as a clam. Wearing your baby is also great when strollers are too cumbersome or inappropriate for a specific situation. Loading the dishwasher or meal preparations are great examples. How about a quick trip to the grocery store? There’s just so much advantages to having your hands free.When Izzie was an infant, I did use the baby bjorn and after a couple uses I found it to be straining on my back on shoulders. In addition, it seemed she wasn’t as comfortable as she could of been. After some research, my intuition was right. I highly recommend the ergo carrier to any mommy. By the way, a baby wearing daddy is hot, won’t you agree ladies?

The ergo is super versatile, because it can be worn in a front, hip or back position (perfect for hiking trips). In addition, it’s a great investment because your child can use it well into their preschool age (45 lbs). The ergo carrier is available in wide range of colors and fun patterns too!

Happy babywearing!

R

One thought on “My best accessory to wear is my baby

Leave a Reply

