Way back when wednesday

Happy Hump Day! Today is officially considered the middle of the week. Which means we’re half way there folks. Yay! :)

Every wednesday, I’ll be posting a picture (or two) of a time long ago. Some will be downright embarrassing, others may cause me to shed a tear or perhaps laugh out loud. Either way, I will embrace them and reminisce on a moment that came and went.

So here I am in the prime of my teenage years. I was 16 years old, and my baby sister was only a year old. I can’t believe how little she was, and now she’s thirteen! Looking back at this photograph makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Okay, who am I kidding? I’m a real sentimental mess. You better get used to it. I’m a sensitive soul, and we buy tissues by the bulk in our household.

It’s crazy how my sister, Joanna was the same age Izabella is at the present time. Maybe it’s because as a mother now, my vision is broader and see a deeper correlation. Perhaps it’s ’cause I realize the way I embraced her is so similar in how I embrace my daughter. Even as a young, naive adolescent, the love I had for her was genuine and strong. Being 15 years and 11 months apart gave me the opportunity to practice (for lack of a better word), caring for a baby. You can say she was sort of like my first in a sense. I helped my mom with the diaper changes and the bottle feedings. I happily carried her on my hip, made her laugh and tried my best to comfort her when she cried. I didn’t raise her, but I was always the big sister who looked after her.

Still today, not so much is different (well, minus the diaper changes…haha). I do my very best to protect her from falling. Hold her hand when there are bumps along the way. Give her my shoulder when she needs a good cry. Pick her up when she feels tired. Guide her when she’s lost. Give her a band-aid when she’s hurt. Acknowledge all her steps (whether they’re big or wee baby one). Laugh at all the quirky little things that make her so funny and wonderful. Remind her how beautiful she really is both inside and out.

Funny how life has a way of repeating itself or coming full circle. Now my dear daughter is 14 months and my little sister is a teenager. When I watch them interact with each other, I can’t help but think back to this one picture. Today my sister (who will always be my baby sister no matter how old she is), is the coolest, young auntie to my munhkin. In my heart, I know the nurturing Izabella receives from her aunt is a reflection. It’s a reminder of the power of unconditional love and deep relationships. All the while, I also have the mind-blowing thought of my precious Izzie being a teenager one day too. I mean…woah!!! A little bittersweet, because I almost wish I could keep her in my ergo baby carrier forever. Courtesy to Joanna, I have some serious boy talk and other heartfelt conversations under my belt. Thank you for that dear sister, and for being the awesome gal you are! I love you to the moon and back <3

Yours truly,

R

2 thoughts on “Way back when wednesday

  1. Ester says:

    There are no words to describe that moment when I saw my little sister for the very first time at the hospital weighing only 3lbs 14 oz. Her name was Joanna meaning a Miracle of God. My Sister will always be true survivor in the eyes of mine. A shut out to the world’s best LIL Sister I can ever ask God for. Love You SIS. Always and Forever, Ester and the coolest Aunt to your Nephew Zekie :-) Mucho Besos

Leave a Reply

